Skip to content

BandMusicPDF / 1321

Amsterdam Suite, 1st mvmt


Matthew Curtis / Paul Noble

Scroll down for Related Items listings.

“The ‘Amsterdam Suite’, written in 1995, seeks to convey some impressions of a city that I have visited several times. It opens with the waltz sequence ‘Barrel Organs’, recalling the hurdy-gurdies positioned at strategic points in the city with the aim of parting tourists from their loose change. The tunes, however, are mine rather than an attempt to reproduce the real thing. “Amsterdam takes its Saturday nights seriously, with the result that those who get up (or are still up) on Sunday will find themselves in eerily deserted street, whose atmosphere to me suggests one instrument above all – the saxophone – which plays a prominent part in ‘Lonely City’. The Saturday nights themselves are depicted in ‘Trams and Crowds’. I have taken liberties with the chronology for the obvious musical reason of wanting to go out with a bang rather than a whimper. The basic structure is very much that used by Eric Coates for similar pieces – a bustling outer section with a quick march trio, presented in a fuller and more embellished orchestration on each of its three appearances.” - Matthew Curtis

Add To Cart
Add To Estimate
Add to Wishlist

Category: Concert Band
Level: 4.5

Related Items

Publisher Title Composer / Arranger Voicing SKU Price QTY
BandMusicPDF Amsterdam Suite, 1st mvmt (full score) Matthew Curtis / Paul Noble 1321FS 30.00