Skip to content

Alfred / al / 36-A815802

Eine kleine Nachtmusik (Serenade in G), K. 525 (critical edition)


By Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart / arr. Ernst Fritz Schmid

Scroll down for Related Items listings.

EINE KLEINE NACHTMUSIK (A Little Night Music, Serenade No. 13 in G Major) was written in 1787 for string quintet, although it is frequently performed as a string orchestra work. Possibly composed originally with five movements (the Menuetto and Trio appears to be lost), the special title "Eine kleine Nachtmusik" was likely not given to the work by W.A. Mozart (1756-1791) as it derived from an entry in his personal catalog, almost certainly acting as a mere record of his having completed a little serenade. The work was not published until 1827 along with a bundle of Mozart's other works sold by his widow Constanze, and no record exists of a commission or performance in Mozart's lifetime that might clear up the intent for the title. Still, the serenade remains among Mozart's most popular and recognizable works. Movements: I. Allegro, II. Romanze, III. Menuetto, and IV. Rondo. This critical edition by internationally recognized Mozart expert Ernst Fritz Schmid was released as part of the Neue Mozart Ausgabe (New Mozart Edition) project. Strings in set: 4-4-3-3-3.

Add To Cart
Add To Estimate
Add to Wishlist

Category: Orchestra
Series: Critical Editions
Voicing/Instrument: String Orchestra; String Orchestra (4-4-3-3-3 in set); Score and Parts