Skip to content

Murphy Music Press / MURPHY / W-955

Night Sky

Jack Wilds

Scroll down for Related Items listings.

Night Sky is a portrayal of three constellations: Pices, Cetus, and Scorpio.

Pices uses orchestraional tricks and short, repeated motivic fragments to portray fish leaping from a glittering stream. Cetus, the sea-monster, uses indeterminate passages and a vast, hulking canon to bring its subject to life. Over the course of the movement, the music builds until the leviathan crests above the water then dives back down. The third movement utilizes a twelve-tone row, some free atonality, and driving percussion parts to summon the image of a massive, scuttling scorpion.

Add To Cart
Add To Estimate
Add to Wishlist

Category: Concert Band
Level: 2.5

Related Items

Publisher Title Composer / Arranger Voicing SKU Price QTY
Murphy Music Press Night Sky (Score) Jack Wilds W-955A 25.00